eggllka.blogg.se

How to determine cluster network mac address
How to determine cluster network mac address







how to determine cluster network mac address

Somehow.This article describes how to find the Media Access Control (MAC) address of a network adapter in Windows.

how to determine cluster network mac address

I have also yet to find an article from MS that explains how their Switch Embedded Teaming doesn't cause bridging loops - but it does work. The above obviously makes troubleshooting things really difficult if you can't predict what MAC any vNIC is going to be using. Don't ask me how ARP or NS/ND work because I can't understand this whole SET stuff at all. The broadcast traffic is then masqueraded/translated to the MAC address of the pNIC so that switch MAC tables are learned correctly and you don't generate broadcast storms. Non-unicast traffic (broadcast/multicast) from the vNIC is "affinitized" to exactly one pNIC. Unicast traffic from the vNIC just load balances over the physical adapters. I went back and forth in a few emails with a Microsoft engineer on this before and I still don't fully understand it, but to the best of my abilities, it goes like this (again, only for SET vSwitches): Do you see the MAC address change immediately after the migration or a day or so later? Are the migrations done when the machine is powered off or powered on?Īlso if you're using a Hyper-V virtual switch with Switch Embedded Teaming.things get WEIRD really quickly. You've raised a fascinating question - what happens when the VM migrates between cluster nodes? I assume nothing would happen until you shut down and power on the VM again and Hyper-V runs through the dynamic MAC algorithm again. This effectively limits you by default to 256 vNICs per hyper-V node but this is configurable via a registry hack. I don't know which IP address it selects though.Ĭc is incremented by 1 for every vNIC on the machine. 00:11:22 is a placeholder here.Īa:bb are the last two octet's of the Hyper-V server's IPv4 address converted to hex. The way I remember the dynamic MAC addresses working in Hyper-V is as such (I am not well versed with Hyper-V, I'm just shooting out what I remember and my theory here):Ġ0:11:22 is Microsoft's ID. You know, I never thought about it but you're right.









How to determine cluster network mac address